Skip to content
September 30, 2011 / susanmccaslin

Exaggerate Much?

I just read Jane Pollak’s blog post “Exaggerate Much?” (September 26, 2011  http://networkedblogs.com/nPuQM?ref=nf) where she points out that many of us exaggerate the work we do, the responsibilities we have through the use of phrases like “I have a ton of emails to answer” when in fact there are 14. She speculates it may be a way to make ourselves feel more significant, that we are pumping up the numbers.

My thoughts while reading this post went to the people who understate their workload. What are they saying and how can they speak truthfully when their truth is that they feel a need to minimize what they do? Phrases like “Oh no, I’m not busy at all, I can help you with that.” When in fact they have 20 emails waiting for them and past due deadlines in front of them? How hard it is for some to say “I am too busy for you right now.”

Leave a comment